Chocolate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(contains wheat)


Sometimes you just want cookies.  Like, really want cookies.  I was at the store the other day to buy some spaghetti sauce.  Spaghetti is one of the few things our little dude will/can eat, so it’s something we have frequently.  I don’t know what it is about spaghetti (specifically spaghetti Bolognese – or at least our American perversion of it), but I always feel like I need something afterwards.  I don’t know what, just… something.

As I was wandering the aisles of the grocery store, I saw the oatmeal.  Lightning struck.  I will make oatmeal cookies!  The good kind, not the kind with raisins.  Raisins are a good way to ruin just about anything, especially a cookie.  I grabbed some old-fashioned oats and Enjoy Life chocolate chips and headed home.

(Quick note:  If you aren’t familiar with the brand Enjoy Life, check it out.  Now.  This link opens in a new page so you can do it without leaving this page.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.   (*hums “Girl from Ipanema”*)  I know, right?  Top 8 allergen free everything.  Thank goodness for products like this!)

After dinner, the girls helped me make the cookies while Michelle played Mario Kart with Reese.  Unfortunately, the idea for this blog hit me as I was taking the cookies out of the oven, so I don’t have any process pictures.  I’ll try to explain as well as I can.IMG_1121

As I was measuring out the 2 cups of flour, I had an idea.  What if I made these chocolate?  So I pulled out 3 tablespoons of the flour and replaced it to 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder.  I meant, it acts like flour in a recipe any, right?  I had no idea if it would work or not.  But I figured, why not?  A catastrophic oven explosion is unlikely, so let’s go for it.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter-flavored shortening (eg. Crisco)
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 ¼ cups brown sugar (light or dark, your preference)
  • ¾ cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Ener-G egg replacer (this plus the water is the equivalent of 2 eggs)
  • 4 Tbsp warm water (this is mixed with the Ener-G in a separate bowl to replace the eggs)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of flour (minus 3 Tbsp)
  • 1 1/2  tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. With an electric mixer, cream together the butter-flavored shortening, the 2 tbsp of water, and white and brown sugars until light and fluffy.
  3. In a separate bowl, using a whisk or fork, stir together the Ener-G egg replacer and the warm water until well mixed.
  4. Mix the egg replacer and vanilla into the sugar mixture.
  5. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon.
  6. In three installments, mix the flour mixture into the sugar mixture. Start slow so you don’t through flour all over your kitchen, then pick up the speed when it’s all mixed in.
  7. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.
  8. Using spoons or a small ice cream scoop, measure out cookie dough onto parchment lined cookie sheets, 6-8 per cookie sheet.
  9. Bake for 10-12 minutes, turning in the oven after 6 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

 

No dairy, no eggs… Reese was a happy little dude when he got to have a cookie just like his sisters!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Lennox and Reese’s SunButter Cups | Adventures of a Food allergy dad

  2. Pingback: Enjoy Life! | Adventures of a Food allergy dad

  3. Pingback: My Inspiration | Adventures of a Food allergy dad

  4. Pingback: No eggs? No problem! | Adventures of a Food allergy dad

Leave a Reply

