Coconut Oil Chocolate Drops

Easy, delicious, and Top 8 free?  Yes please!

March 2019

Do you ever find yourself sitting in front of the TV after finally getting the kids to bed and saying to yourself, “I need something…..”?  I do.  Frequently.  That’s when I start getting creative.  I make up popcorn toppings, I pour honey and cinnamon on ice cream… basically I throw a bunch of stuff at the wall and see what sticks.  This is one of them.

I was talking to my son’s dietitian about trying to get him eat.  I somewhat sheepishly told her about these, thinking she might tell me off for giving him so much sugar.  To my surprise, she said that these are an excellent high calorie snack for him to eat, and to give them as often as he wants.  Accidental victory!

I used to make these with butter, but to make them safe for our little MegaMan, I switched to coconut oil.  I’ll level with you, I rarely measure anything.  Especially with things like this.  So all of the measurements you’ll see here are approximate.

First, mix together powdered sugar and cocoa powder.  Throw in a pinch of salt (chocolate and salt go well together).  Sometimes I add some cinnamon and cayenne if I’m feeling like making Mexican chocolate drops.

IMG_1147

Melt the coconut oil (in my house, that means take out all of the chips and cookies and bread that is being stored in the microwave first), then pour it into the sugar.  It will look weird and borderline gross.   Just stir it until it looks nice and smooth.  From here, you can mix in anything you want.  I have done peanuts, but that’s obviously out of the question now, so rice krispies it is!

IMG_1149

Scoop it out onto wax paper and chill in the fridge.  Because they are made with coconut oil, they melt in your fingers, so I would suggest making them small, bite-sized pieces.

IMG_1150.JPG

Coconut Oil Chocolate Drops

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup rice krispies
  1. Mix together powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and salt.
  2. Melt coconut oil.
  3. Add melted oil to sugar mixture and stir until smooth.
  4. Gently stir in rice krispies.
  5. Spoon bite-sized portions onto wax paper and chill until set.

Store in the refrigerator (but that probably won’t be an issue… they don’t last long in my house!)

One thought on “Coconut Oil Chocolate Drops

  1. Pingback: When Your Kid Won’t Eat | Adventures of a Food allergy dad

Leave a Reply

