The Most Perfect Snack Food

When it comes to snacks, it is my humble (and 100% correct) opinion that popcorn is king. In fact, I’m eating some right now as I type this. It’s not an exaggeration to say that I eat popcorn about 4 nights a week on average. It’s an easy and delicious way to get more whole grain into your diet. Although, my preferred way of eating it probably cancels out those health benefits, as it involves a good amount of browned butter drizzled over the top.

Popcorn is also extremely easy to make safe for my little EOE dude. He can’t have butter, but there are so many more things you can do to popcorn. When I make homemade popcorn, I simply use popcorn, sunflower oil, and fine salt. As simple (and almost boring) as it sounds, if you use good quality ingredients, it beats out a big tub of the buttery movie theater stuff every time. Sometimes, though, I just can’t be bothered to make my own popcorn.  There are countless store-bought popcorn brands out there, but Reese’s current favorites are these:

I’ll admit, as much as I like popcorn, I used to hate kettle corn.  I never understood the whole “salty sweet” thing.  I have come around, though, and this is our favorite Reese-safe version.  (I still don’t get the whole “dipping your fries in your Wendy’s frosty thing, but that’s a discussion for another time.)  The sweetness of the Boom Chicka Pop kettle corn is not overwhelming; it complements the savory aspect of the popcorn very well.  And our kids love it.  It’s a great snack, and this company is committed to using “real ingredients found in a kitchen, not in a lab.*”  The Smartfood sea salt is a good, all-around salted popcorn that you would never guess is only 35 calories per serving.

Sometimes, you just don’t want (or have time) to cook.  What are your go-to, allergy-safe snacks?

 

*https://boomchickapop.com/about-us/

Leave a Reply

