Mother’s Day: A dad’s take

I posted this on Facebook a couple years ago, but it’s worth repeating:

As a father, I have to say I have it pretty easy. Our world doesn’t expect much from fathers. We are allowed to be, in fact, almost expected to be a bit clueless and slightly inept. It’s mothers who are expected to hold everything together. Run the calendar, cook the meals, clean the house, do the crafts, wash and fold the clothes, plan the parties… It’s a bit overwhelming. No, it’s REALLY overwhelming. And wholly unfair. Why is it that fathers are allowed to be unskilled, yet mothers are expected to be perfect? Pinterest moms give us great ideas, but I think they may have taken the place of the magazine models in setting unrealistic expectations. Let’s allow the moms in our lives to be who they are: human.

To my wife: thank you for making my job as a father so wonderful. Thank you for taking care of our daughters and our son. I don’t care if our house isn’t perfect, or if we eat leftovers sometimes. I love you and appreciate you for who you are.

To my mom: thank you for supporting me and for never giving me the opportunity to doubt your love for me.

To my friends and family who are mothers: you have one of the hardest jobs in the world, and when you’re doing it right, few seem to notice. Please know you are loved and appreciated, both for what you do and who you are.

To everyone else: tomorrow is Mother’s Day. If your mom is still around, it’s a great time to thank her for all she has done and all she is. But please, don’t do it only then. Tell her in August, when there’s no other holiday. Tell her on Tuesday, just because it’s Tuesday. Tell her whenever you can, because we don’t tell her enough.

Thank you, moms, and happy Mother’s Day.

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day: A dad’s take

Leave a Reply

