Hawaiian Chicken Kebabs

The  taste of  summer, bite-sized.Hawaiian Chicken Kebabs (small)

Any parent knows that coming up with dinners can be a challenge.  If that parent has a kid with food restrictions (whether due to allergies, EOE, or any other of a host of things), it is that much more difficult.  In the midst of the “I don’t want to do spaghetti again” conversation, Michelle had an idea.  It was a brilliant idea.  KEBABS.

Here’s the thing with a kebab “recipe.”  It’s basically just a suggestion.  The suggestion we started with came from Holly at www.spendwithpennies.com (modified to fit our tastes and dietary needs, of course). As suggested by Holly, we started with KC Masterpiece BBQ rub and sauce mix.  This would be very easily done with whatever barbecue sauce you like (or any other marinade and seasoning mix, for that matter).

The ‘Hawaiian’ part is not really authentic Hawaiian, but more of a “Taco Bell is real Mexican food” type of thing.  We “mainlanders” have a tendency to think pineapple makes everything Hawaiian.  Not necessarily enlightened, but it is delicious. Mix the sauce mix (or whatever sauce you use) with pineapple juice.  Cut chicken up into kebab-sized pieces (1″ square or so) and marinate the chicken for about 4 hours. Normally I would marinate over night, but I didn’t want the chicken to get so tender that it would fall apart on the skewer.  (Side note: I see this all over the food blog world, so let’s straighten this out – “marinate” is a verb, “marinade” is a noun.  Two different things. That is all.)  While chicken is marinating, cut veggies into kebab-sized bites (about 1″ square). We went with green, red, and yellow bell peppers and red onion. To make it “Hawaiian,” add in some pineapple.  And please use fresh pineapple. There is no point to canned pineapple (unless you like the taste of the inside of a can).

Carefully thread the piece of chicken and veg onto the skewers. Be sure to be careful, or you might skewer your finger.  I only did that about 4 times before I figured out how not to. I made sure to have the onion and pineapple next to the chicken because I wanted those to flavor the chicken.  It probably doesn’t matter, though. You can see from the pictures that I basted the kebabs with sauce.  You may want to consider doing that near the end of the cooking.  The sugar content made it char around the edges a little faster than I would have liked. You want it to sizzle, not burn.

Grill these kebabs however you see fit.  For me and my house, that means charcoal grill. Watch them carefully – small pieces cook quickly.

I can’t eat kebabs off the skewer.  I have poked myself enough times I’m afraid I’ll start looking like Heath Ledger’s Joker before long. So I slide it off onto a plate and enjoy without having to ask “Do you want to know how I got these scars?”

Now, like I said, kebab recipes are just suggestions. In fact, sometimes, all it takes is the suggestion of “kebab” to make you come up with your own way to doing it.  Can’t eat onions?  Don’t!  Hate pineapple? Leave it out (I’m looking at you, Aunt Malinda.) This would be great marinaded with oil, sriracha, and lime juice.  It would be awesome with brown sugar, salt, and cayenne pepper.  It would be wonderful with coconut aminos and minced ginger.  Do it however you want, and let me know all about it. It would make my day to hear how your kebabs turn out.  Thanks for liking, commenting, and sharing!

Hawaiian Chicken Kebabs (large)

 

 

One thought on “Hawaiian Chicken Kebabs

  1. I’m so honored to have made it into your blog! I do try pineapple every year in hopes my taste buds will change 🙂 love you and so proud of the man you are!–Aunt Malinda

    Like

Leave a Reply

